FIRST TIME WATCHING POLO?

The Teams: Each team has 4 members each with a distinct position, as shown by the number on their shirt. No 1 is essentially a goal striker. No 2 also a forward but plays harder especially on defence. No 3 is the pivotal player between offence and defence who tries to turn all plays to offence. He is usually the highest rated player on the team. No 4 or back is the most defensive player whose primary responsibility is to protect the goal area.

The Game & Stomping the Divots: The game is normally divided into six chukkas with each lasting 7 minutes with a 3 minute interval in between, to allow the players to change horses. The Morton Cup will be played over five chukkas. Chukka comes from the Indian word for a circle or round. The teams change ends whenever a goal is scored. At half time, it is a long standing tradition that the spectators walk onto the field to 'stomp the divots' made by the ponies hooves.

Handicaps: All players are rated from -2 to 10 (the higher the better). The team handicap is the sum of its players' handicaps.

To find out more: Join NSW Polo 'Friends of Polo' to receive emails with details of upcoming tournaments. Email nsw@australianpolo.com.au

SAFETY

Please stay behind barriers. Do not approach the field during a game.

The field extends 10 metres beyond the red boards.

Do not approach the horses and do not pat them.

Please watch the game, a polo ball travels at 100km and can sometimes find its way into the spectators at speed

Dogs must be kept on leads at all times.

PHOTOS COURTESY OF STEPHEN MOWBRAY www.stephenmowbrayphotography.com











PROGRAM
THE MORTON CUP POLO TOURNAMENT
21ST - 22ND MAY 2022
SCONE POLO CLUB



HISTORY OF THE MORTON CUP

Formerly known as the Easter International Tournament which was originally held at Warwick Farm from 1981 to 2000.

Since then, the tournament has been held at Windsor Polo Club with the winners now being presented The Morton Cup.

In recent years there has been a Test Match played prior to the Easter weekend and a separate Morton Cup tournament played around the Easter weekend.

In 2022 due to the flooding in the Hawkesbury the Test Match was cancelled and The Morton Cup was transferred here to Scone Polo Club.

TROPHIES PRESENTED FOR THE MORTON CUP 2022 FOR THE MORTON CUP TEAMS:

The Morton Cup - Winners of the tournament

R. M. Pitt Memorial Cup - Winners of the subsidiary final (will not be contested in 2022)

FOR THE PONIES:

R. R. Ashton Cup - Champion Pony



THE MORTON CUP TEAMS 8-10 GOAL

ELLERSTON WHITE		KILLARNEY	
David Paradice	1	Alex Zak	0
Blake Grimes	0	Nick Wills	0
Jack Grimes	4	Gus Agurrie	4
Matt Grimes ©	5	Dirk Gould ©	5
	10		9
THE PINES		MILLAMOLONG	
John Prendiville	0	Anna Dowling	0
Scott McCreery	1	Archie Dowling	1
Gus Boonzaaier	3	Hamish Dowling	2
Alec White ©	5	Guy Higginson ©	5
	9		8
SCONE		JEMALONG	
Zac Cochrane	1	Henry Bachelor	1
Cody Grimes	1	Whitney Warren	0
Anto White ©	2	Andrew Williams	3
Rob Archibald	5	Thomas Hunt ©	6
	9		10

ORDER OF PLAY SUNDAY 22ND MAY 2022

THE MORTON CUP FINAL

3pm - Glenugie Field

TOURNAMENT RULES & COMMITEE

TOURNAMENT RULES

The Morton Cup will be played according to AFP Rules.

The two winning teams with the biggest margin will play in the final.

Zero tolerance - There is zero tolerance for talking back to the umpires.

TOURNAMENT COMMITTEE

Tournament committee: Alec White, Jack Archibald & Adam Meally

Horse welfare: Al Simpson Chief umpire: Jack Archibald