Red & Yellow Cards


In addition to any penalty awarded, a flag may also be awarded to a player by the umpires. It may be awarded for the breach of any rule but will usually be awarded for dangerous play, unsportsmanlike conduct or persistent breach of the rules. The umpires must agree that a player should be awarded a flag and, if not in agreement, consult with the referee whose decision shall be final, and obtain the acknowledgement of the player(s) awarded the flag and their team captain(s).

  1. Sin Bin
    A player may be sin binned (sent off for 2 minutes of play) for a first offence but a player shall be sin binned if he incurs 2 yellow flags within one match. The player shall return to the pony lines or a location as designated by the host club (the sin bin) where he will remain for two minutes of playing time; this includes the time when the ball is out of play but not when the ball is dead and the clock stopped. The referee or time keeper will fly a flag during this period and as soon as it is lowered the player may re-join the game in an on-side position. This may run across two chukkas or into the next match of that tournament.
  2. Red Flag.
    1. A player may be awarded a red flag at any stage, including for a first offence.
    2. A player awarded a red flag shall be sent off for the rest of the match. After 2 minutes of playing time, the sent off player may be substituted. If the player has been awarded a red flag for leaving the game before the final bell without the permission of the umpires, he may not be substituted.
    3. A player shall be awarded a red flag if he has not obtained the permission of the umpires to leave a game before the final bell and in respect of conduct after the final chukka has ended the umpires may only award a red flag.
    4. A player awarded a red flag shall be automatically suspended for the next match of the tournament and the rules for a team change shall then apply. If awarded during or after the last match in the tournament, the suspension shall apply to another match or matches of equivalent standing as decided by the relevant State Association where the incident occurred.
  3. Report Forms
    A report with details of the incident shall be completed by the umpires and referee for a red flag and a statement by the player shall be obtained by the club and submitted to the State Association and APF as soon as reasonably practicable. All reports of yellow flags are to be emailed to the APF and State Association with a short statement and the reason for the award of the yellow flag.

NB Taken from the Australian Polo Federation Disciplinary Regulations 2018

Please see a current list of all Yellow and Red Card holders from NSWPA Autumn Tournaments 2022
All penalties will be recorded here in future for clubs reference.

Yellow Cards
Patrick O'Dwyer Garangula White v Catalina Ellerston have not provided this detail
Ignacio O'Dwyer Metahorses v Garangula Black  
Patrick O'Dwyer Ellerston Red v Garangula White  
James Haper Ellerston Red v Garangula White  
Drew Harris AZ Polo v Garangula Black Whipping
Ollie Cudmore Wright Pastoral v Garangula Black  
Tom Martin Stone Real Estate v Arunga  
Tomas Fernandez Ellerston Black v Foxton Technical
Red Cards
David Marshall Kurri Burri v Garangula Black Striking another player
Jack Grimes Kurri Burri v Ellerston Black Bad Ride off
Jake Daniels Ellerston Red v Garangula White Bad ride off x 2 yellows

Yellow Cards
Guy Schwarzenbach Garangula v TCFL Backchat
Sam Hopkinson Garangula v TCFL Whipping
Bud Sorby Garangula Troika v Wright Pastoral Backchat
Tom Hunt - 3 Yellow Garangula Troika v Wright Pastoral Backchat
  Garangula Troika v Wright Pastoral 2nd Back chat + Sin Bin
  Garangula Troika v Wright Pastoral Foul Language towards 3rd man
1 min 30 seconds off 1st chukka next game. Starts on Yellow
Alex Warner Ellerston Black v Pinnacle Polo Whipping

Yellow Cards
James Harper 8-Apr Backchat
Sam Stott 8-Apr Bad ride off
Dirk Gould 8-Apr Yelling out
Jake Daniels 9-Apr Backchat
Glen Gilmore 9-Apr Striking
Matt Grimes 9-Apr Hitting a horse twice with the ball