Countess of Dudley Cup tournament

First presented in 1910 by the Countess of Dudley, this tournament is the Polo Association Clubs' Championship.  Check the Calendar page of the website for details.

History of the tournament: Please click on the document attached below to read a brief history of the Countess of Dudley Cup.

You can download the 42 page booklet by Sally Weedon, Countess of Dudley Cup Tournament 1985: a short history of the polo clubs in New South Wales and their participation in the Countess of Dudley Cup 1910 - 1985

Trophies awarded at the Countess of Dudley Cup tournament:

Team Trophies:

  • The Countess of Dudley Cup for the winners of the Championship.
  • L. T. Watson Memorial Trophy Played between Losers of Semi-Finals.
  • Sir J J Garvan Cup Played between first day losers.

    Ponies Trophies:

    • Lady de Chair Trophy for the Champion Pony.
    • R W Farrell Trophy for the Champion Novice Pony.
    • Vychan Trophy for the Team of 3 ponies owned and played by a 2 goals and less.

    Player Trophy:

    • Curtis Skene Trophy for most improved NSW player of any handicap judged for period Dudley Cup to Dudley Cup.
  • 8 goal Division - this division was presented a specific trophy in 2014, the Alec Macleod Cup given by his three daughters in memory of the long-serving NSWPA Tournament Manager and international commentator.
See past winners of the Dudley Cup HERE 

Related Documents